IT DOES NOT MATTER WHAT OTHER PEOPLE THINK

 

Over the past few months the experience of other people having an opinion is impacting on my reality more than anything else. I have changed my eating/dietary habits to make life better for me. I understand my family and friends want that, however some of them think I am taking it to the extreme and I am not healthy. Let me give you a little background information about me. I grew up in coastal Georgia. I grew up in a home where fresh food was a must. I never ate Hamburger Helper until I was 26 years old. I was not interested in cooking, however I loved to eat. I can witness to the Sunday and holiday dinners where there were endless amounts of food that lasted for days. I also loved eating fine food.

 

Living on the coast provided an abundance of fresh fish and seafood. I was educated about the food groups and eating 3 meals per day. I was also told that I did not eat enough vegetables. This was true. My list of vegetables included: greens (Collards and Mustards cooked with smoked neck bones), broccoli (loaded with cheese), green beans (with smoked neck bones) corn (loaded with butter and salt), and a salad (loaded with ranch dressing, cheese and bacon bits). I thought I was ok. My list of fruits were numerous. I was never on any crash diets. I have tried Slim Fast with no results. I have done extreme exercising regimens that only increased muscle.

 

I guess you are wondering what changed. I had a visit to the ER in 2011. I called off from work; there was so much ice on my car that I was too weak to scrape it off. I waited until my boyfriend came home from work. I was in a lot of pain and I felt horrible. By the time I left the ER, my blood pressure was high, and I was anemic. After much testing, it was discovered I was a borderline diabetic and diagnosed with hypothyroidism. I forgot to mention I was at my highest weight of 327lbs. Yes, this scared the living daylights out of me. I hated the way my body felt. After my visit to the ER, I was referred to another doctor. I really did not pay attention to what he was telling me I sat there thinking that I am too young for this to be happening to me. I thought about my family members that died from heart attacks, strokes and diabetes. I came to realize those diseases came from their unhealthy eating habits. The doctor prescribed metformin for my diabetes and medication for my thyroid problem. Metformin made me very sick. I could not believe this medication was suppose to make me better. I decided I would not become a person dependent on pills for my survival.

 

With this knowledge of my health, I ceased from eating red meat, sweets, starches, pop, alcohol, dairy, cheese, butter and anything else that caused my body harm. I began a rigorous workout that included running, water aerobics, strength training, pilates, Jeet Kune Do, belly dancing and Zumba. I cried, sweated and cursed during these workouts. I could not blame anyone but myself. I used muscles I never used before. I did things I thought my body could not do. As time passed I have lost 30lbs and kept it off, removed chicken and seafood from my menu, increased eating beans and raw nuts and removed processed food from my diet.

 

When I explained this to my family, they were proud of my success and worried that I was doing something wrong. I explained I never felt better. I was not going  to be a pill popper. D (my significant other) could not understand what happened to his “eating partner.” At this point, I love my body and what I place in it. I know that I am doing the right thing. It feels to grocery shop and not feel guilty about what I eat. I am taking this a step further to participate in a juice fast next month. I welcome the challenge. During the fast, I will post video blogs on Youtube (http://www.youtube.com/ladyderenne). I thank you for your support on my blog page.

 

Fat But Fit

DeDe DeRenne.

2 thoughts on “IT DOES NOT MATTER WHAT OTHER PEOPLE THINK

  1. Thyroid problems are among the most common medical conditions but, because their symptoms often appear gradually, they are commonly misdiagnosed. So much evidence suggests that thyroid problems are due to an allergic or environmental cause that it seems sensible to remove those substances known to affect the thyroid to see if this corrects the condition before taking any medication.-

    Our own internet page
    <http://www.foodsupplementcenter.com/valerian-root-dosage/

  2. The object of all this is to be healthy and happy. You can be that at most weights one just needs to work at things in various ways.

Leave a comment